01793 528800


Nova Hreod Academy is a part of United Learning whose Trustees hold the ultimate responsibility for the governance of each United Learning school. United Learning’s Trustees delegate certain key roles and responsibilities to the school’s Local Governing Body (LGB) and these are set out clearly in the Scheme of Delegation (Appendix 4 to United Learning LGB Members Handbook), which can be seen on the United Learning website. Further information about the governance of United Learning can be found at http://unitedlearning.org.uk/about-us/governance

The Department for Education’s governance handbook identifies the essentials of effective governance as follows:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Swindon Academy and Nova Hreod Academy are a United Learning School Cluster. The Cluster has one Governing Body who hold Cluster school leaders to account. The Local Governing Body (LGB) ensures there is consistency and cohesion across the Cluster, taking a strategic view across the schools.  Members of the LGB are responsible for specific areas at each school.  Each school retains its separate budget and admissions arrangements.

The Local Governing Body provide a wide-range of expertise that enables high-level challenge and provides support for improvement and change.  The LGB as a whole meet six times each year whereby governors review school improvement, achievement and progress.  Additionally, members of the governing body hold responsibility for specific areas and are allocated to governor committees, which meet six times each year.  Committee members are as follows:

Chair of LGB Stephen Shrigley

Swindon Cluster

Secondary Committee

Chair Debbie Harris
Vice Chair Kevin Logan
Nova Hreod Academy Swindon Academy
Paddy Bradley (Safeguarding) Debbie Harris
Kevin Logan Stephen Shrigley
Nick Needs Andrea Keighley
  Helen Thorne
  Carol Shelley (Safeguarding)
Nick Wells       Ruth Robinson       Karen Stokes

Swindon Cluster

Finance and Staffing Committee

Swindon Academy Stephen Shrigley
Nova Hreod Academy Alan Taylor
School staff Sam Jadeja


Parents can contact Stephen Shrigley, the Chair of Governors, by writing to him at : Mr S Shrigley, Chair of Governors, Swindon Academy, Beech Avenue, Swindon, SN2 1JR.  Please mark your letter as confidential.

United Learning’s annual statements of accounts can be viewed here


The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information
Website Terms, Cookies and Privacy

United Learning